top of page

Losing Cameras (and how to prevent it)

Probably the only way to prevent losing a camera is to make sure it's attached to you at all times.

But seriously.... I'm forgetful. And it hurts when you've lost pictures of your niece's first visit to California Adventures because you left your camera on the Soarin' ride. And even after half an hour of asking the crew to search for the gear I left behind in my seat and calling the lost and found department at Disneyland-- it still hasn't turned up.

So here are some sites that I thought were pretty interesting in the case that this does happen to you:

Stolen Camera Finder: They'll search online to see if pictures taken with your camera have appeared. You just have to upload a photo of yours. In general, handy for finding your serial number-- but if the stolen camera pictures don't get posted to flickr/500px but instead go to facebook (where the EXIF data is stripped from the image)-- you won't find your camera.

STOP labels: Even if you peel the label off, there's a permanent phone number that will be stuck to the device. Mostly seems to be used on laptop devices.

I'm not convinced that adding any of those bluetooth-enabled trackers will help, which is why they're not listed here.

I am however convinced that engraving my name on my camera and probably adding a permanent label to my SD cards might help.... Hopefully this is the first and last camera I lose!

bottom of page