top of page

A Foggy Day, In London Town

Sticking with my recurring pattern of visiting some sort of museum/aquarium in almost every major city I've visited, I headed over to the Science Museum once I landed in London. I won't post a lot of pictures here, but I will say that this is well worth the visit. The DaVinci exhibit, although interesting (they did put together a lot of unique ideas that DaVinci never built), it was not particularly interesting. However, the rest of the museum is fantastic-- especially the technology floor. There were lathes and handtools from the early 1800s all the way to modern day-- they even had a Cray computer!

Worth another visit? Probably. But it would have been more fun in my opinion to have gone and found some meat pies and Guinness... 6 hours in London isn't a whole lot.

A great flying machine based off of DaVinci's drawings at the Science Museum in London.

Behold, the Cray computer-- where two women from Wisconsin stood back-to-back to fix all the wires and computers were large enough to double as comfy furniture. This is from the era where computers had literal "bugs" in them (as opposed to "bugs" in the code).

bottom of page