top of page

Camping in the Adirondacks (and other interesting places between Boston and Toronto)

Fort Ticonderoga-- lots of history here, I believe it did see a few major battles between the British and the French. Also happens to be the town where Ticonderoga pencils came from (but sadly, the factory no longer exists).

Cranberry Lake State Campground (one of the nicest I've ever been to)

Site 92 on the Second Loop

Katheryn and I had some wonderful camping (granted we were only there a night because we didn't want to camp during a thunderstorm). Lake Durant is a very relaxing place to be, and site 92 allows you to be right by the water (but you can't go in from the site). Great view of the western sky! (Next time, I want to find a site like this on the third loop, which faces south).

This is the first time I've ever encountered fireflies. Katheryn and I primarily came here for the stargazing (it's one of the darkest sites in the northeastern US) and so we tried to scale Bear Mountain to see if we could get to the lookout (and see if it was a doable hike later on at night). Verdict: we started off too close to sunset, and weren't really ever sure if we were near the lookout or not. Very steep climb about a mile in. I have now gone to "luxury" camping and using the habitent, I was able to convert my Mazda3 hatchback into a pretty nice tent (though it was more of an "Adela-sized" sleeping area-- not sure how any of my >6' friends would fit comfortably).

Things I would change for my next camping adventure:

- Add a sleeping pad to the backseat (even with a sleeping bag, it's not enough padding)

- Add mesh screens with magnetic strips to the other windows for more ventilation (even with the hatch open it got kind of stuffy)

- Bring a hanging toiletry kit for the bathroom

- Find other "curtain-y" material

Onwards to Toronto!

I cared about the food, Katheryn cared about the art.

Places of Interest:

- Royal Ontario Museum (Katheryn went while I shopped at the local supermarkets like T&T)

- McMichael Art Collection(Great collection of modern and more traditional Canadian art)

- Downtown/waterfront area (lots of interesting shops around if you head away from the water)

- St. Lawrence Market (great food but they have hours we forgot to look up before we went so we didn't get to go here)

- Distillery District (lots of hipster/fancy things with fancy prices)

- Islands across the way (didn't get here, the ferry line was quite long)

Of course, the short list of places to eat:

bottom of page