top of page

Kyoto to Nara: Exploring on the JR Line

Today I went to Fushimi Inari again with a new friend from Brisbane.

My artsy photo of the shrine.

Overlook of Kyoto. Stunning.

When the morning light hits the tori gates just right, the whole place takes on a different feeling.

I got a charm for safe travels. I loved how it had the fox and the tori gates on it.

Famous quail served at Inari that you can eat, bones and all.

About 45 mins away from Inari, Nara is the ancient capital of Japan, and is still very much a modern city. Nara is also famous for its deer. These tourists bought the deer treats...

This is the temple that's very very famous in Nara because it's the largest wooden structure in the world. (That's the entrance to the temple in the picture.) The park that this temple is in is worth a walk. Very beautiful manicured landscape.

Okonomiyaki, as served at one of the local chain restaurants. Neat concept in that you can cook on a hot plate in front of you. But... I'm still not a fan of this cabbage-meat-omelet dish (and I feel like that's a bad thing).

Chain okonomiyaki restaurant. Cooked at table. Mesmerizing.

bottom of page